PSC Seeks Nominations for 2013 Community Service Awards

Chicago Heights, IL-(ENEWSPF)- Thousands of people in the Prairie State College (PSC) district give generously of their time and talent to make the community a better place.  To honor these individuals, PSC is accepting nominations for two community service awards, one to honor a community member and another to honor a PSC graduate.

The first is the Dr. James H. Griffith Community Service Award, given to a 2013 PSC graduate. Nominees should be individuals who have contributed in an extraordinary way to the community. The award is named after former Trustee Dr. James H. Griffith, who served for 25 years on the PSC Board of Trustees.

The second award is the Michael R. Monteleone Community Service Award, given to a community member of the PSC district. Nominees must be a person or group who has contributed, in an extraordinary way and over a long period of time, to education through community service, as either a volunteer or a community leader. A nominee’s service efforts should be within the PSC district, although additional activities in other areas would be recognized. Also, the nominee should not be employed in the community service or public service field. The award is named after former Trustee and Board Chair Michael R. Monteleone, who served on the Board of Trustees for 21 years, from 1981 to 2002.

All nominations must arrive at the PSC President’s Office no later than Friday, May 10. To receive a nomination form or for more information, call Deb Havighorst, executive assistant to the Board of Trustees, at (708) 709-7918.