Congresswoman Duckworth Announces Formation of Advisory Committees

Schaumburg, IL–(ENEWSPF)–January 26, 2015.  Today, Congresswoman Tammy Duckworth (IL-08) announced that she convened advisory committees on issues of importance to the 8th Congressional District. Congresswoman Duckworth established the committees to hear firsthand from her constituents and encourage more members of the community to give their input on the future of 8th Congressional District, Illinois and the nation. The committees include: Small Business, Manufacturing, Asian Americans, Education and Immigration. Constituents are selected based on their leadership in the community and character. Members are expected to serve for one year and each committee will convene on a quarterly basis.

“As representative of the 8th Congressional District, it is my first responsibility and priority to advocate in Washington for the issues my neighbors care about,” said Duckworth. “I know the members of our advisory committees have unique insights into the challenges facing our communities and will provide invaluable contributions and service.”

Congresswoman Duckworth will be adding new committees and members during the coming months.

Advisory Committee on Small Business

Teresa Faidley, Senior Vice President, Wintrust Bank

Linda Ballatine, Executive Director, Rolling Meadows Chamber of Commerce

Jane Hove, President & CEO, Bloomingdale Chamber of Commerce

Carol Gieske, President, Elgin Chamber of Commerce

Kitty Pon, President, Pactrans Air & Sea

Tom Cassell, Director, Illinois Small Business Development Center

Laura Ortega, Executive Director of the International Business Council, Illinois Chamber of Commerce

John Berley, Director of Community Development, Addison Chamber of Commerce

John Katsantonis, Marketing Communication Manager, Hunter Foundry Machinery Corporation

Advisory Committee on Manufacturing

Paul G. Kuchuris, Jr., President, Association for Manufacturing Excellence

William Merchantz, NIMS Teacher, Elk Grove High School

Rick Delawder, President, SWD

Todd Surritte, Vice President, OSG Tap & Die, Inc.

Rand Haas, Business Community Leader, Veterans Rapid Employment Initiative and Schaumburg Business Association

Diana Peters, Executive Director, Symbol Training Institute

Advisory Committee on Asian American Community

Tuyet Lee, Executive Director, Asians Americans Advancing Justice

George Mui, Vice President of Programming, Organization of Chinese Americans

Inhe Choi, Interim Executive Director, Korean American Resource & Cultural Center

Karen Eng, President, CSMI

Raja Krishnamoorthi, President, Episensors

Advisory Committee on Education

Ken Ender, President, Harper College

Kathi Griffin, Vice President, Illinois NEA/Illinois Federation of Teachers

Cynthia Garcia, Executive Director, Northwest Educational Council for Student Success

Jane Russell, President, West Suburban Teachers Union, Local 571

Dr. Joseph Collins, Executive Vice President, College of DuPage

Amy Pratt, Associate Director, OSEP/STEM Northwestern University

Guray Taysever, Executive Director, Turkish American Society School

Dr. David Sam, President, Elgin Community College

Advisory Committee on Immigration

Shirley Sadjadi, Attorney, Private Office

Jaime Garcia, Executive Director, Centro de Información

Eira Corral, Village Clerk, Village of Hanover Park

Emily Gray, Executive Director, World Relief DuPage