Senators Kirk, Durbin Lead Illinois Delegation Call for Federal Relief for Small Businesses Impacted by April Tornado

WASHINGTON –(ENEWSPF)–June 4, 2015.  U.S. Senators Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) and Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) were joined by the entire Illinois Congressional Delegation today in sending a letter to President Obama asking him to issue a U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Declaration for DeKalb and Ogle Counties, which will allow residents and businesses in the region severely impacted by severe storms and tornadoes in April this year to receive SBA loans. These loans provide assistance to homeowners, renters, businesses to repair or replace disaster damaged real estate, personal property, machinery, equipment, inventory and business assets. The designation also includes the counties that surround DeKalb and Ogle Counties.

Today’s delegation letter comes in support of Illinois Governor Bruce Rauner’s request letter to President Obama – sent on Saturday – which cited reports from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency of 31 homes and seven businesses that had sustained major damages and had significant uninsured losses. 

“On April 9, a series of tornadoes tore through the north-central part of our state.  At least two tornadoes, one a category EF-4 with wind speeds of up to 200 miles per hour, moved through DeKalb and Ogle counties. Preliminary damage assessments indicate that homes, businesses, buildings, trees, utility poles, electrical service, and transportation routes in these counties were harmed by the tornadoes. The economic impact on the community as a result of businesses being destroyed is severe and the demand for state and local government resources for emergency response, debris removal, and the repair of public property is extraordinary,” the Members wrote. “We thank you in advance for your timely consideration of this important request and stand ready to assist in any way appropriate.” 

Members signing on to the letter of support include: U.S. Representative Mike Bost (R-Ill.), U.S. Representative Cheri Bustos (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Danny Davis (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Rodney Davis (R-Ill.), U.S. Representative Robert Dold (R-Ill.), U.S. Representative Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Bill Foster (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Randy Hultgren (R-Ill.), U.S. Representative Adam Kinzinger (R-Ill.), U.S. Representative Robin Kelly (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Dan Lipinksi (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Mike Quigley (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Peter Roskam (R-Ill.), U.S. Representative Bobby Rush (D-Ill.), U.S. Representative Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.), and U.S. Representative John Shimkus (R-Ill.).