Marian Catholic Announces Illinois State Scholars

Marian Catholic High School Logo
Marian Catholic High School. (Graphic Supplied)

Illinois Student Assistance Commission Applauds the Success of 44 Marian Catholic Students

Chicago Heights, IL-(ENEWSPF)- Marian Catholic Principal, Steve Tortorello is pleased to announce that 32 Marian Catholic students from the graduating class of 2016 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.  Another 12 students who met the Illinois State Scholar criteria live in Indiana.

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, bestows this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually. This year, nearly 19,000 elite honorees join the other top state students honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958.

Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank. State Scholars rank in approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors, representing 652 high schools across the state.

“We are proud of the academic accomplishments of our students.  Marian students are encouraged to enroll in advanced level classes which result in the high number of students receiving this honor,” said Dr. Shirley Morris, Vice Principal of Academics. “It is evident by their stellar performance that these students are diligent and motivated with their studies and have taken full advantage of the learning opportunities extended to them.”

Juan Arellano (S. Chicago Heights), Tristan Augustine (Chicago), Kyle Elam (Hazel Crest), Alexander Fagan (Chicago Heights), George Funk (Homewood), Anna Grzybowski (Chicago Heights), Arielle Hernandez-Lyons (Chicago), Dorothy Hodson (Steger), Myles Howard (Matteson), Julie Javorka (Lansing), Elizabeth Johnson (Orland Park), Matuesz Julecki (Chicago Heights), Madeline Kelly (Flossmoor), Emmaline Krause (Chicago Heights), Sarah Lisak (Frankfort) and Hannah Martin (Crete).

Also, Brendan Marz (Crete), Renae Melone (Monee), Chiamaobi Ndukwe (Olympia Fields), Adam Novak (South Holland), Douglas Nunes (Lansing), Kira Oparah (South Holland), Ethan Osuch (Steger), Mikayla Panton (Country Club Hills), Zak Piekarski (Lansing), Liam Quinn (Flossmoor), Nicole Robinson (Olympia Fields), Staci Roesch (Chicago Heights), Katherine Serba (Langin), Vincent Valbuena (Flossmoor), Kyle Walker (Country Club Hils) and Kenzie Worsham (Steger).

Additionally, 12 students from Indiana met the criteria for Illinois State Scholar, including Josephine An (Munster), Krista Bozacki (Schererville), Megan Chio (Schererville), Luke Davis (St. John), Madison Kapers (Schererville), Christopher Korfiatis (Schererville), John LaVelle (Schererville), John Loxas (Dyer), Timothy Lusk (St. John), Isabella Navarro (Munster), Michael O’Shea (Munster) and Jarred Rusin (Schererville).

“It is always an honor to announce another extraordinary group of State Scholars,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC executive director. “At a time when postsecondary education could not be more important to future job and career success, these students have demonstrated the kind of effort and dedication that will help them advance not only their futures, but the future of the state as well. We wish each of them the best as they pursue their chosen educational path.”

While this distinguished recognition does not include a monetary prize, recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on applications for college admission and scholarships. In addition, students are urged to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) as soon as possible after January 1, 2016. The FAFSA determines eligibility for federal and state aid.