Park Forest Police Honor Officers and Citizens

Detective John DeCeault Officer of the Year
Detective John DeCeault (center) stands with family as Deputy Chief Mike McNamara and Chief Thomas Fleming present him as the "2010 Officer of the Year." (Photo: Gary Kopycinski)

Photos from Sundays Award Ceremony are available here.

Park Forest, IL–(ENEWSPF)– The Park Forest Police Department honored its own and several citizens Sunday at the seventh annual Honors Ceremony at Freedom Hall. The event also served as the 60th Anniversary Celebration of the PFPD, the 25th Anniversary of the Officer of the Year award, and was the largest gathering so far as several former officers were invited back and recognized for their years of service to the citizens of Park Forest.

Detective John DeCeault was named the 2010 Officer of the Year, and Police Officer Charlie Hoskins received the highest award obtainable by any member of the Park Forest Police Department, the Police Medal of Valor. Several of Hoskins’ family members, including his parents, were in attendance. Family and friends of other officers were in attendance as well and accompanied the officers on stage as they received individual recognition.

The following received the Citizen Award:

Sandra Robey
Michael Gentry
Cynthia Holman
Adam Bruce
Darlene Miller
James Bird
Gary Kopycinski
Penelope Chamberlain
Mischa Muckian
Byron Moore

Officer Charlie Hoskins receives the Medal of Valor
Officer Charlie Hoskins stands with his family as he receives the Medal of Valor from Deputy Chief Mike McNamara. (Photo: Gary Kopycinski)

The following received Years of Service Awards:

Five Years
Police Officer Tom Piszczor
Corporal Brian Obremski
Police Officer John Sweitzer

Ten Years
Corporal Brian Rzyski
Police Officer Lee Elliot
Police Officer Mitchel Greer

Fifteen Years
Commander Steve Coe
Commander Michael LoSchiavo

Twenty Years
Senior Records Clerk Carol Sterrett
Records Supervisor Jane Troescher
Detective Commander Peter Green
Corporal T.J. Boulden

Twenty-Five Years
Police Chief Thomas Fleming

For the 60th Anniversary of the department, police recognized many for decades of service. Not all of the retired 30 year and 25 year officers were in attendance. Several of them already passed away.

The following were honored for Thirty Years of Service:

Sergeant/Asst. to Chief Donald Myers (38), Chief/Director of Police Robert Maeyama (37), Chief Francis DioGuardi (33), Captain Donald Rekau (32), Chief Fred Romano (32), Officer Geoffrey Henderson (31), Commander Brian Tas (30), and Lieutenant Lee Gericke (30).

The following were honored for Twenty-Five Years of Service:

Lieutenant Maurice Fuentes (29), Deputy Chief Michael McNamara (29 – Active), Captain John Lancaster (28), Commander Robert Price (28), Chief William Hamby (28), Officer Ralph Padilla (28), Corporal Richard Oldenburg (28- Active), Commander John Williams (27), Deputy Chief Cliff Butz (27 – Active), Lieutenant John Mielke (26), corporal Willis "Tony" Brunson (26), Sergeant Charles Casler (26), Dispatcher/Clerk Evelyn McCarren (25), Officer Richard Delaney (25), Commander Patrick Fitzgerald (25), Corporal Brent Elliot (25), and Chief Thomas Fleming (25).

Finally, the following received the Outstanding Service Award, (Because some officers were called to the stage several times, we include them in this list for every instance.):

Officer Timothy Hoskins
Corporal T.J. Boulden
Corporal Devin Strahla and Officer Justin Rimovsky
Corporal Scott Sheets
Corporal T.J. Boulden
Officer Paul Shulman
Officers Charlie Hoskins and William Busse
Corporal Scott Sheets and Officer James Kessler
Officer Paul Shulman
Officer Timothy Hoskins
Officers William Busse and Justin Rimovsky
Detectives John DeCeault and Jon Mannino
Officer John Sweitzer
Officer James Kessler
Officer William Busse
Detectives Erin Lara, Paul Morache, and John DeCeault
Officer Tom Dermody
Detectives John DeCeault and Jon Mannino
Detectives John DeCeault and Jon Mannino
Officer Justin Rimovsky and Detective John Sweitzer
Detective Paul Morache
Officers Charlie Hoskins and James Kessler
Commander Paul Winfrey
Officer James Varga
Officer Kristopher Vallow
Officer James Kessler
Dective John DeCeault
Detective Jon Mannino

The Term Award was given to Officers John Sweitzer, Kristopher Vallow, Justin Rimovsky and Lloyd Elliot for the first, second, third and fourth quarters respectively.

Finally, Meritorious Service Awards were presented to the following, "for services rendered in the line of duty where the officer, because of his/her initiative, diligence and perseverance, performs a difficult act in which crime is prevented, life saved, property protected or criminals apprehended:"

  • Detective Commander Peter Green, Detective Corporal Michael Baugh, and Detectives Brian Rzyski, James Varga and Julius Moore in connection with the investigation into the Jon Edwards homicide and the Adam Martinez homicide;
  • Detective Commander Peter Green, Detective Corporal Michael Baugh, and Detectives Brian Rzyski, and Julius Moore in connection with the Dana Hayes homicide;
  • Detective John Sweitzer for the investigation of the Arizona child abduction case.

Photos from Sundays Award Ceremony are available here.

Related: James Bird, Gary Kopycinski, and Detective John Sweitzer Honored in Alleged Kidnapping Case