John Boehner Retains Leadership Position in House of Representatives

Washington, DC—(ENEWSPF)—January 3, 2013. Consistent with the Constitution, the 113th Congress convened at noon today.  In its first official business, the House of Representatives voted to retain John Boehner (R-Ohio) as Speaker of the House.  This will be Boehner’s second term as Speaker.

Boehner, who was not challenged for the position, received 200 of the 426 votes cast today.  Ten Republicans voted for someone other than Boehner.

Democratic leader Nancy Pelosi received 192 votes.