41.8 F
Park Forest
Sunday, November 27, 2022
The Free Press Isn't Free. Like what you see? Please subscribe.

Cook County Board President, Commissioners Sworn In

Cook County Board, Toni Preckwinkle
The 2018-2022 members of the Cook County Board, sworn in December 3, 2018. (PHOTO SUPPLIED)

Chicago, IL-(ENEWSPF)- Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle was sworn in for her third term of office December 3, 2018, by Chief Judge Timothy Evans. Preckwinkle was reelected to her position after running unopposed in the November 6 election.

Cook County saw a 29.1% voter turnout, with 450,143 ballots cast from a possible 1,549,688 registered voters. Turnout in Cook County for the past two Gubernatorial elections was only 16.0% in 2014 and 25.5% in 2010.

Numbers for early voting set a record. “As of 3:30 p.m. today,” Clerk David Orr said on November 2, “190,794 suburban Cook County voters had voted early in person. This far surpasses the total number of people who voted early in the 2014 (128,011) and 2010 (83,871) Gubernatorial elections.”

In a speech following the ceremony, Preckwinkle highlighted the successes of her first two terms and outlined an ambitious agenda for the third term that will be guided by the Policy Roadmap: Five-Year Strategic Plan for Offices Under the President —the first comprehensive policy driven strategic plan for the Offices Under the President (OUP) since the administration’s 2011 transition plan.

Toni Preckwinkle, Cook County Board
Toni Preckwinkle speaks before the Cook County Board. (Photo: Cook County Board)

In her remarks after being sworn in, Preckwinkle pledged:

“My administration will be taking a deliberative step to further show that government should be an instrument for compassion, not cruelty.”

“A path to a more equitable Cook County recognizes how racially and economically segregated this County is and the tremendous disparities that exist.”

“Viewed through the lenses of equity, engagement and excellence, we have identified six policy priorities upon which to concentrate our efforts – We will build communities that are: healthy, vital, safe & thriving, sustainable, smart and open.”

“Our government exists to serve residents and this is a forward looking plan that believes in the best of Cook County and the best for Cook County – because we all do better when we all do better.”

The 17 members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners, including seven new Commissioners, were also sworn in by Evans.

The Board of Commissioners members are:

  • Brandon Johnson – 1st District
  • Dennis Deer – 2nd District
  • Bill Lowry – 3rd District
  • Stanley Moore – 4th District
  • Deborah Sims – 5th District
  • Donna Miller – 6th District
  • Alma E. Anaya – 7th District
  • Luis Arroyo, Jr. – 8th District
  • Peter N. Silvestri – 9th District
  • Bridget Gainer – 10th District
  • John P. Daley – 11th District
  • Bridget Degnen – 12th District
  • Larry Suffredin – 13th District
  • Scott R. Britton – 14th District
  • Kevin B. Morrison – 15th District
  • Jeffrey R. Tobolski – 16th District
  • Sean M. Morrison – 17th District

Time will tell how far President Preckwinkle’s term will run given that she has announced her candidacy for mayor of Chicago.


Recent Articles

Stay Connected


Local Advertisers



Park Forest
clear sky
41.8 ° F
45.6 °
38.9 °
76 %
0 %
43 °
45 °
55 °
55 °
28 °

About Google Ads

The Google-supplied ads that appear on this website are not reviewed ahead of time and differ for each visitor. If anything offensive, inappropriate, or otherwise unwholesome appears, please notify us so we can take steps to block that specific advertiser. Email the URL or advertiser name to [email protected].