57 F
Park Forest
Tuesday, November 29, 2022
The Free Press Isn't Free. Like what you see? Please subscribe.

GSU Announces Excellence Awards and Grants Tenure

University Park, IL–(ENEWSPF)– Governors State University recently honored members of its faculty and staff with awards acknowledging their excellence as educators and employees. The awards recognize the hard work and dedication of those who share the university’s commitment to its students and the community.

“Each year awards are given to people who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in teaching or the performance of primary duties, research or creative activities, and/or service,” explained Dr. Jane Hudak, Provost of Governors State University. “The award publicly acknowledges the good work accomplished by the university’s faculty and staff throughout the year.”

The Excellence Award recipients from the College of Arts and Sciences include: Dr. Emmanuel Alozie of Monee; Dr. Mary Carrington of Crete; Cheryl Hague of Crown Point, Indiana; Dr. Rosemary Johnsen of Grand Rapids, Michigan; Dr. Mary Lanigan of Tinley Park; Dr. Larry Levinson of Homewood; and Marilyn Yirku of Chicago.

From the College of Business and Public Administration, the Excellence Award honoree is Pamela Stipanich of Beecher.

From the College of Education, Excellence Award honorees include: Thomas Bierdz of Chicago; Dr. Jon Carlsonof Lake Geneva, Wisconsin; Dr.Glenna Howell of Park Forest; Carla Johnson of Chicago Heights; Dr. Taida Kelly of Steger; Patricia Ann Robey of Crete; Dr. Catherine Sori, of Highland, Indiana; Dr.Byron Waller of Manhattan; and former assistant professor, Dr. Adam Zagelbaum.

The Excellence Award recipient from University College is Tony Labriola of Olympia Fields.

The Excellence Award recipients from the College of Health and Human Services include: Dr. Constance Edwards of Frankfort; Martha Gainer of Bourbonnais; and Dr. Tae Hyun Kim of Mokena.

Dr. Becky Nugent of Matteson was the recipient of the 2007 Excellence Award for her work in Student Affairs and Academic Support.

The Excellence Award recipient from the University Library is Lydia Morrow Ruetten of New Lenox.

Dr. Colleen Sexton of Frankfort received a promotion to professor in the College of Education.

Tenure was granted to Dr. Ting Jie Wang of Shorewood, Associate Professor in Accounting; Dr. Elizabeth Essex of Oak Park, Associate Professor of Social Work; and Dr. Maristela Zell of Evanston, Associate Professor of Social Work.



Recent Articles

Stay Connected


Local Advertisers



Park Forest
overcast clouds
57 ° F
57.9 °
56.1 °
81 %
100 %
57 °
34 °
47 °
54 °
28 °

About Google Ads

The Google-supplied ads that appear on this website are not reviewed ahead of time and differ for each visitor. If anything offensive, inappropriate, or otherwise unwholesome appears, please notify us so we can take steps to block that specific advertiser. Email the URL or advertiser name to [email protected].