57 F
Park Forest
Tuesday, November 29, 2022
The Free Press Isn't Free. Like what you see? Please subscribe.

Illinois LGBT Leaders Stand with Hillary Clinton

Chicago, IL –(ENEWSPF)–March 4, 2016.  Hillary for Illinois announced today that nearly 100 LGBT leaders have endorsed and will mobilize their networks to support Hillary Clinton ahead of the March 15 primary. Over the two weeks, these LGBT leaders will as campaign surrogates and host and attend phone banks, organizing meetings, debate watch parties, and community meetings. Clinton received the endorsement of the Human Rights Campaign earlier this year.

Hillary Clinton’s comprehensive plan to pass the Equality Act, promote LGBT-inclusive schools and family policies, and champion transgender equality highlights her commitment to supporting LGBT families in Illinois and across the country.

“Hillary Clinton knows that too many LGBT Americans both in Illinois and across the country still face discrimination – in employment, in education, in health care, housing, and more – because of who they love or who they are,” said Director of LGBT Outreach Dominic Lowell. “She is honored to have the support of so many LGBT leaders in Illinois who have been on the frontlines of fighting for equality. As president, Hillary will be a tireless advocate for the LGBT community and break down the barriers that hold them back. She’s the only candidate who has laid out a comprehensive plan to address issues like parenting and adoption, protections for LGBT youth, conversion therapy, violence against transgender people and transgender service in the military, and health care access for people with HIV. Her passion for these issues ensures she’ll put them front and center.”

The following LGBT Leaders have endorsed Clinton:

  • Julius Agers, Activist
  • Amy Armstrong, Community Entertainer
  • Alex Arroyo, Delegate, West Suburban Activist
  • Austin Baidas, Former LGBT Director for Illinois Family Action
  • Nicole Bashor, Attorney
  • Jim Bennett, Attorney
  • Dave Bentlin, Central Illinois Activist
  • Jerry Dean Bowman, Springfield Leader
  • Juan Calderon, Activist
  • Evette Cardona, Activist
  • Buff Carmichael, Springfield Leader
  • Jamie Citron, Former National LGBT Vote Director, Obama for America
  • Carol Boyd, Homeless Advocate
  • Nadi Torres, Homeless Advocate
  • Kevin Quinn Brady, Community Activist
  • Gay Bruhn, Delegate, West Suburban, Activist
  • Mario Camacho, Community Volunteer
  • Casey Cameron, Southern Illinois Activist
  • Lori Cannon, Founder, Open Hand Chicago
  • James Cappleman, Chicago Alderman
  • Kelly Cassidy, State Representative
  • David Cerda, Actor
  • Bernard Cherkasov, Community Leader
  • Rocco Claps, Delegate, West Suburban, Community Activist
  • Stevie Conlon, Activist
  • Sue Skau, Activist
  • Todd Connor, Business Leader
  • Anthony D’Amato, Attorney
  • Jack Delaney, Founder, Chicago House
  • Meakose Edmond, Activist
  • Xavier Esters, Human Rights Campaign, Board of Governors
  • Pat Ewert, Activist
  • Doug Ferguson, Activist
  • Ashley Fowler, Human Rights Campaign, Board of Governors
  • Dalila Fridi, Community Leader
  • Rick Garcia, Delegate, North Side, Longtime Activist and Leader
  • James Gavin, Arts and Community Leader
  • Aidan Gilbert, Activist
  • Michele Gilbert, Activist
  • Grant Gochnauer, Technology Entrepreneur
  • Charles Good, Delegate, Springfield
  • Kevin Hauswirth, Business Leader
  • Richard Hensel, Community Advocate
  • John Hilgeman, Southern Illinois Activist
  • Kim L. Hunt, Activist
  • Art Johnston, Business Owner
  • Christina Kahrl, Sports Journalist
  • Anne Klingeberger, Human Rights Campaign, Board of Governors
  • Robert Kohl, Developer
  • Liz Lassner, Community Leader
  • June LaTrobe, Activist
  • Ray Lopez & Hugo Orejel, Delegate, Alderman, City of Chicago
  • Kenny Martin-Ocasio, NGLTF, Co-Chair Creating Change
  • Anthony Martinez, Founding Director, Civil Rights Agenda
  • Joey McDonald, Activist
  • Theresa Ann McLaughlin, Activist
  • Deb Mell, Alderman, City of Chicago
  • Ellen Meyers, Long Time Activist
  • Mary Morten, Long Time Activist
  • Angelique Munro, Entertainer, Activist
  • Robert Newhart, Human Rights Campaign, Board of Directors
  • Mona Noriega, Latina Activist
  • Greg O’Neill, Business Leader
  • Jeremy Pelegrin, Activist
  • John Peller, Activist
  • Aimee Pine, Activist
  • Maggie Koehler, Activist
  • Jonathan “Yoni” Pizer, Activist
  • Brad Lippitz, Activist
  • John Litchfield, Attorney
  • Victor Lim, Human Rights Campaign, Board of Governors
  • Nancy Reiff, Activist
  • Jackie Richter, Activist
  • Jose Rivera, Activist
  • Donna Rose, Activist
  • Angelica Ross, Actress
  • Jack Ryan, Activist
  • Linda Ryherd-Schroeder, Central Illinois activist
  • Victor Salvo, Long Time Activist
  • Mark Saxenmeyer, Media Leader, Activist
  • Malone Sizelove, Media Leader
  • Debra Shore
  • Stan Sloan, Former Executive Director, Chicago House
  • John Smith, Blogger and Community Activist
  • Richard Streetman, Community Activist
  • Deb Taft, Human Rights Campaign, Board of Directors
  • Lourdes Torres, Activist
  • Betty Tsamis, Civil Rights Attorney
  • Modesto Tico Valle, Activist
  • Christy Webber, Business leader & Community activist
  • John West, Delegate, North Side, Community Activist
  • Rodney Wilson, Southern Illinois Activist
  • Will Wilson, Activist
  • Mark Wojcik, Civil Rights Attorney and Educator

Source: http://www.hillaryclinton.com


Recent Articles

Stay Connected


Local Advertisers



Park Forest
overcast clouds
57 ° F
57.9 °
56.1 °
81 %
100 %
57 °
34 °
47 °
54 °
28 °

About Google Ads

The Google-supplied ads that appear on this website are not reviewed ahead of time and differ for each visitor. If anything offensive, inappropriate, or otherwise unwholesome appears, please notify us so we can take steps to block that specific advertiser. Email the URL or advertiser name to [email protected].