22.6 F
Park Forest
Saturday, December 3, 2022
The Free Press Isn't Free. Like what you see? Please subscribe.

Marian Catholic Boasts 66 Illinois State Scholar Qualifiers


Tribute: Mrs. Cathy DiGiovanni’s 3D Multi-Cultural Sculpture class at Marian Catholic High School display a tribute of American Soldiers killed in Iraq (4,195 names when the labels were placed). Students pictured include Rebekah Bohlen (Homewood), Joe Hess (Lynwood), Annie Rosandich (Frankfort), Dennis Rogala (Lansing), Angela DeSalle (Steger) and Kyle Tilley (Steger). (PHOTO SUPPLIED)

Chicago Heights, IL–(ENEWSPF)– Marian Catholic High School has had 56 members of the Class of 2009 earn recognition as Illinois State Scholars. The Illinois Student Assistance Commission recognizes Illinois high school students for outstanding academic achievement based on standardized test scores and class rank. Another 10 students who met the Illinois State Scholar criteria live in Indiana .

Park Forest students include Ryann Bardwell, Matthew Goedke and Ryan Rudolf.

These 66 seniors are in the top 10 percent of the state’s more than 135,000 graduating seniors. Illinois State Scholars, which number about 18 percent of the Marian Catholic Class of 2009, include:

Daniel Anderson (Tinley Park), Joshua Anderson (Crete), Allison Angell (Chicago Heights), Teresa Banks (Richton Park), Ryann Bardwell (Park Forest), Sean Barry (Chicago Heights), Nicholas Bender (Crete), Christina Brow (Frankfort), Nathaniel Coburn (Matteson), Lauren Denton (Lansing), Laura DiLuia (Flossmoor), Roseann Drosos (Chicago), Mario Earnest (Crete), Danielle Edgeworth (Lansing), Eric Federico (Tinley Park), Jennifer Finlayson (Lansing), David Fleming (Tinley Park), Joan Furjanic (Oak Forest), Matthew Goedke (Park Forest), Michelle Hanacek (Crete), Cassandra Hohner (Oak Forest), Olivia Jackson (Matteson), Neal Jacobsma (South Holland), Dylan Johnson (Homewood), Sarah Kasper (Crete), Dana Kuehr (Flossmoor), Jonathan Lamano (Orland Hills), Elias Larson (Orland Park).

Also, Carolyn Liesen (Chicago Heights), Kelly Liesse (Glenwood), Casey Lilek (South Holland), Roland Lim III (Olympia Fields), Jennifer Lydon (Crete), Madeline Lynch (Tinley Park), Melinda Markert (Homewood), Teronse Miller (South Holland), Taylor Newhuis (Flossmoor), Enyinnaya Okebugwu (Olympia Fields), Lidia Panozzo (Flossmoor), Katie Pietraszak (Lansing), Angela Quatrini (Tinley Park), Max Rodriguez (Crete), Annie Rosandich (Frankfort), Ryan Rudolf (Park Forest), Julie Rzeszutko (Tinley Park), Courtney Saenz (Richton Park), Daniel Schramm (Homewood), Noeli Serna (Thornton), Christopher Skurka (Tinley Park), Caitlin Stanley (Oak Forest), Reid Steinbach (Tinley Park), Emily Torres (Lansing), Dana Ventre (Oak Forest), Garrett Von Schaumburg (Olympia Fields), Jessica Weiler (Matteson) and Ayanna Worthey (Richton Park).

Additionally, 10 students from Indiana met the criteria for Illinois State Scholar, including Clare Anderson (Dyer), Benjamin Dunajeski (Dyer), Bryan Golubski (Dyer), Christopher Karlin (Dyer), Daniel Klipper ( Highland ), Scott Kucharski ( Munster ), Erin O’Shea ( Munster ), Paul Obbagy ( St. John ), Aron Reid (Dyer) and Matthew Salasky ( St. John ).


Recent Articles

Stay Connected


Local Advertisers



Park Forest
clear sky
22.6 ° F
24.5 °
20.7 °
72 %
0 %
31 °
37 °
45 °
43 °
44 °

About Google Ads

The Google-supplied ads that appear on this website are not reviewed ahead of time and differ for each visitor. If anything offensive, inappropriate, or otherwise unwholesome appears, please notify us so we can take steps to block that specific advertiser. Email the URL or advertiser name to [email protected].