$3.2 Million in Grants Awarded for Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad

Washington, DC–(ENEWSPF)–October 2, 2012.  Today the U.S. Department of Education announced the award of the Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad (DDRA) grants, totaling more than $3.2 million, to 34 institutions of higher education. At these institutions, 84 individual fellowships were awarded to doctoral students to conduct research in other countries, in modern foreign languages and area studies, for periods of six to 12 months. Under the Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Program, research projects deepen knowledge on and help the nation develop capability in areas of the world not generally included in U.S. curricula.

“We need increased international collaboration through education,” U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan said. “Such collaboration can inform and strengthen our reform efforts nationally, even as it helps improve standards of teaching and learning—and fosters understanding—internationally.”

The Fulbright Program, of which the Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Program is a part, dates to 1946 when the late-U.S. Sen. J. William Fulbright sponsored legislation to create the program as a means to increase mutual understanding between America and the rest of the world.

The Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad program holds an annual competition, based on funding. Eligible applicants are American institutions of higher education. Students apply through the institution they are enrolled in.

Following are the recipients of the Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Program:


Total Institutional Award

University of Michigan


University of Pennsylvania


George Mason University


University of Texas,  Austin


University of Denver


Washington University


University of Wisconsin


University of California, Santa Cruz


New York University


Ohio State University


University of Virginia


Johns Hopkins University


University of Chicago


University of California, Berkeley


Michigan State University


University of Colorado, Boulder


Stanford University


Cornell University


Columbia University


University of California, Davis


University of Illinois


Auburn University


Harvard University


University of Florida


Northwestern University


Syracuse University


Brown University


Indiana University


University of Washington


University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


University of California, Los Angeles


Yale University


Georgetown University


Princeton University


Total for Prinicpal Awards


Source: ed.gov