48 Marian Catholic Seniors Named Illinois State Scholars

Marian Catholic H.S. 2012 Illinois State Scholars
The 2012 Illinois State Scholars from Marian Catholi High School. (PHOTO SUPPLIED)

Chicago Heights, IL-(ENEWSPF)- Marian Catholic High School is proud to announce that 48 members of the Class of 2012 have earned recognition as Illinois State Scholars. The Illinois Student Assistance Commission recognizes Illinois high school students for outstanding academic achievement based on standardized test scores and class rank. Another seven students who met the Illinois State Scholar criteria live in Indiana.

“To see the list of Illinois State Scholars every year is always enjoyable for the administration and faculty of Marian Catholic, who invest so much time and effort in each student,” said Dr. Shirley Morris, Vice Principal of Academics. “We are very proud of this group of students and wish them and the rest of the class of 2012 success as they complete their final semester at Marian and go on to college in the fall.”

These 48 students are in the top 10 percent of the state’s more than 135,000 graduating seniors. Illinois State Scholars, which number more than 13 percent of the Marian Catholic Class of 2012, include:

Front Row: Michelle Longo (Chicago Heights), Kelsey Tierney (Tinley Park), Nina Trlak (Park Forest), Stephanie Werner (Homewood), Torianna Crawford (Country Club Hills), Deandre Tate-Drummer (Glenwood), Kelly Foley (Chicago Heights), Candice Marden (Monee), Bernadette Senick (Tinley Park), Benjamin David (Chicago), Taylor Jones (Schererville), and Chelsea Davis (Crete).

Second Row: Kelly Gregorovic (Lansing), Alexis Funk (Dyer), Gianna Patrizi (Orland Park), Summer Fields (Richton Park), Camille Johnson (South Holland), Nicole Panozzo (Tinley Park), Alexis Jones (Olympia Fields), Trevor Thompkins (Olympia Fields), Jose Saenz (Richton Park), and Bridget Goedke (Park Forest).

Third Row: David Tiberi (Chicago Heights), Jason Lamano (Orland Hills), Matt Wilk (Olympia Fields), Kelly Lane (South Holland), Johnathon Brodeur (Steger), Ryan Thier (Oak Forest), Michael Peabody (Flossmoor), Shelby Cosman (St. John), Paul deBustros (Flossmoor), Amber Williams (Richton Park), Niccole Nelson (Tinley Park), Morgan Hirschfield (Crete), and Michael Irwin (Frankfort).

Fourth Row: Patrick O’Shea (Munster), Aaron Dunajeski (Dyer), Jason Kint (Crete), Ryan Hutchison (Dyer), Matthew Anderson (Tinley Park), Matthew Grybas (Frankfort), Nicholas Moorman (Dyer), Mitchell Zavesky (Flossmoor), Bill Hilger (Oak Forest), Thomas Ryan (Chicago Heights), and Timothy Dannels (Park Forest). Not Pictured: Robert Cifelli (Chicago Heights) and Helena Mierzwa (Crete).