77.3 F
Park Forest
Monday, July 4, 2022

Five PSC Faculty Awarded Tenure

faculty awarded tenure
 (left to right) Susan Solberg, dean, liberal arts; Kristina Appelt, lead information librarian;  Katharine Sims-Drew, assistant professor, mathematics; Eric Radtke, PSC president; Thomas Nicholas, assistant professor, English; Adenuga Atewologun, vice president, academic affairs; Teresa McCann, assistant professor, Spanish; Terri Winfree, vice president, community and economic development; Cathy Rook, assistant professor, adult education; Jerry Mackay, dean, library and instructional services; Debra Prendergast, dean, business, mathematics, and science; and Kim Kunce, dean, adult education. . (PHOTO SUPPLIED)

Chicago Heights, IL-(ENEWSPF)- When Prairie State College (PSC) administrators make the decision to recommend faculty for tenure, they are confident the faculty have met the college’s faculty standards of excellence.

“The tenure process at PSC is rigorous and the college takes great care in mentoring and evaluating our faculty during the entire three-year process ,” said Adenuga Atewologun, Ph.D., vice president of academic affairs.

At the PSC January 25 Board of Trustees meeting, five faculty met the college’s expectations for tenure including commitment to student success, collaboration with their peers, and dedication to the college’s mission and core values.  

“These five individuals have distinguished themselves in their fields and in the classroom,” said Eric C. Radtke, Ph.D., college president. “They join a group of dedicated, caring tenured faculty who are committed to their students.”

Faculty receiving tenure are Kristina Appelt, lead information librarian; Teresa McCann, assistant professor, Spanish; Thomas Nicholas, assistant professor, English; Cathy Rook, assistant professor, adult education; and Katharine Sims-Drew, assistant professor, mathematics.

Prior to being awarded tenure, the faculty candidates prepare an extensive teaching portfolio and are evaluated by their colleagues, students, and dean.

“I’m confident that these newly tenured faculty members will make outstanding contributions to our college and our community as a whole,” said Terri Winfree, vice president, community and economic development.

Tenure is effective August 2011.

“I am pleased we were able to grant tenure to such highly qualified individuals,” said Mark Fazzini, PSC Board Chair. “They are just a sample of the high caliber faculty who support student learning.”

Recent Articles

Stay Connected


- Local Advertisements -


Currently Trending

Park Forest
clear sky
77.3 ° F
82 °
73.8 °
82 %
0 %
93 °
87 °
84 °
82 °
74 °

About Google Ads

The Google-supplied ads that appear on this website are not reviewed ahead of time and differ for each visitor. If anything offensive, inappropriate, or otherwise unwholesome appears, please notify us so we can take steps to block that specific advertiser. Email the URL or advertiser name to [email protected].