Prairie State College Faculty Members Honored by The League for Innovation in the Community College

 2015 PSC Roueche Awards
CHICAGO HEIGHTS–(ENEWSPF)–May 7, 2015.  Nine Prairie State College (PSC) faculty members recently were honored with John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards, presented by The League for Innovation in the Community College (the League). The honorees were recognized during the April meeting of the PSC Board of Trustees.

Honored were Associate Professor Marcia Bulthuis, nursing; Assistant Professor Angela Simpson, nursing; Professor Dolores Ickis, dental hygiene; Professor Jason Evans, developmental writing and English; Assistant Professor Cynthia Cornejo, psychology; Assistant Professor Megan Hughes, English; Professor Leigh Ann Burrough, earth science; Associate Professor Medhat Shaibat, chemistry; and Professor Susan Ecsi, mathematics.

In recognition of the long tradition of excellence in community college teaching and leadership, the League established the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards in 2012. These awards are open to League Alliance member institutions to celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff. Recipients are recognized in a series of activities and promotions, and honored at special events at the League’s Innovations conference each spring.

The awards were named for Dr. John E. and Dr. Suanne D. Roueche, leaders in the community college field and early proponents of the idea that teachers have major responsibility for how well students perform in the classroom.

“We are very proud of these individuals for their accomplishments in teaching and leadership, and are fortunate to have them as part of the PSC family,” said PSC President Dr. Terri Winfree. “Each is very deserving of this special recognition, and we thank the League for honoring them in this way.”