62.5 F
Park Forest
Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Park Forest Police Department’s 2013 Honors Ceremony (Complete Video and Text)

Officer Alex Bregin and wife Amanda
Officer Alex Bregin, seen here with his wife Amanda, is the 2013 Park Forest Police Department’s Officer of the Year. (Photo: Gary Kopycinski)

More pictures from this event are here on ENEWSPF-TV

Park Forest, IL-(ENEWSPF)- The Park Forest Police Department held its 10th Annual Honors Ceremony Saturday morning at Freedom Hall. Citizens and officers alike were honored, including 9-year-old Jamiya Gill who, when she was only 8-years-old, dialed 911 and saved her mother’s life.

Officer Alex Bregin, serving his first full year on the force, was named Officer of the Year.

Citizen Awards were presented to Bridgette Jones-Williams, Susannah Lerner, Harold Hammond, Jamiya Gail, Kristy Smith, Dr. Mary Bruce, Panny Chamberlain, Elaine Garcia, and Andres Del Toro.

Outstanding service awards were presented to the following individual officers: Corporal T.J. Boulden, Officer Alex Bregin, Detective John DeCeault (recipient of 4 awards), Officer Mitchell Greer, Officer Charlie Hoskins, CSO (now Officer) James Jachymiak, Officer Robert Johnson, Records Clerk Janet Martin, Records Clerk Yolanda Martinez, Detective Paul Morach (recipient of 2 awards), Detective Corporal Tom Piszczor, Detective Corporal Brian Rzyski, Officer Paul Shulman, Officer Darin Studer, Detective Kristopher Vallow (recipient of 3 awards), Administrative Assistant Kathy Wellington-Nassios, Officer Christopher Widen, Detective Commander Paul Winfrey, and Officer Jason Wolski.

Outstanding service awards were presented to the following teams of officers:

  • Commander Scott Sheets, Corporal Todd Beilke, Officers Alex Bregin and Kathryn Singer;
  • Detective Commander Paul Winfrey, Detective Corporal Brian Rzyski, Detectives Kristopher Vallow, John DeCeault, and Paul Morache;
  • Officers Paul Shulman and Charlie Hoskins;
  • Officers Jason Wolski and Scott Metzger (Olympia Fields Police Department);
  • Corporal Todd Beilke, Officers Timothy Hoskins and Alex Bregin;
  • Corporal T.J. Boulden, Officers Paul Shulman, Justin Rimovsky, Christopher Widen, and Michael Matutis;
  • Corporal Lee Elliott and Officer John Sweitzer;
  • Commander Scott Sheets, Corporal Todd Beilke, Officers William Busse, Kathryn Singer and Robert Johnson;
  • Detectives Paul Morache and Kristopher Vallow;
  • Officers Michael Matutis and Christopher Widen;
  • Commander Michael Baugh, Corporal Lee Elliot, Officers Thomas Naughton, Darin Studer, Charlie Hoskins, Jonathan Garrity, and Jeremy Spriakes.

The following officers received term awards, awarded to the most outstanding member during each quarter:

  • 1st Quarter: Officer Justin Rimovsky;
  • 2nd Quarter: Detective Paul Morache;
  • 3rd Quarter: Officer Alex Bregin;
  • 4th Quarter: Officer Alex Bregin.

Service awards for years served were awarded to the following:

Five Years
Officer David Habecker
Detective Paul Morache
Officer Justin Rimovsky

Ten Years
Detective Jon Mannino

Fifteen Years
Commander Paul Winfrey
Corporal James Varga

Twenty-five Years
Commander Scott Sheets

Thirty Years
Chief of Police Clifford Butz

A meritorious service award was given to Officer Timothy Hoskins.

The ceremony lasted approximately two hours. Officers were accompanied to the stage family members.

The entire ceremony may be viewed here (currently uploading to our ENEWSPF-TV account on YouTube).

Comments Box

Recent Articles

Stay Connected


Local Advertisers



Park Forest
clear sky
62.5 ° F
68.6 °
56.9 °
50 %
0 %
75 °
57 °
61 °
68 °
56 °

About Google Ads

The Google-supplied ads that appear on this website are not reviewed ahead of time and differ for each visitor. If anything offensive, inappropriate, or otherwise unwholesome appears, please notify us so we can take steps to block that specific advertiser. Email the URL or advertiser name to [email protected].